A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed only when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people could see its content. This option could be used for the primary folder of a particular site or only for a particular subfolder depending on your needs. As an example, if you are creating a new Internet site and you do not want people to see it before it's ready, you might want to restrict the access to it completely, whereas if you would like only some people to be able to access specific files, you can password-protect only a specific folder, while the remaining portion of the site can be seen by everyone. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear when the login details the visitor types in are not correct. Even a direct link to a file will not work if any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Cloud Hosting

Creating a password-protected area shall take merely several clicks and a few seconds if you host your websites in a cloud hosting account with us. You will not need to do anything complicated - you'll have to select a domain/subdomain, to pick which folder under it has to be protected, and then to type the login name and password that will be used to access that folder. When a number of people require their own login details, there shall not be a problem to create numerous different usernames with access to the very same folder. All secured folders will appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this function is enabled. If you'd like to disable the security function for any folder, you can disable it from the exact same section of the CP in which you have enabled it.